Spencer Police Chief Finalists Named

Spencer Police Chief Finalists Named

Spencer, IA (KICD)–Five finalists remain in the race to become Spencer’s next Police Chief.

The finalists in alphabetical order, as described by Civil Service Commission Member Michaela Sailer include current Storm Lake Assistant Police Chief Todd Erskine.

Lieutenant Jeff Jirak from the Muscatine Police Department.

Oelwein Police Chief Jeremy Logan.

Creston Police Chief Paul Ver Meer.

The fifth finalist is Interim Spencer Police Chief Mark Warburton.

Sailer and fellow Civil Service Commission members Kevin Robinson and Connie Larson were all in consensus on the finalists who will come to Spencer next week for final interviews and testing.  City Manager Bob Fagen says they all must pass a physical examination and a more comprehensive background check.

Fagen noted that if a candidate emerges from the pack, the earliest Mayor Reynold Peterson’s decision on a new chief would could come at the May 5th city council meeting.

Local Headlines

in Local

Governor to Okoboji


Governor Branstad is attending the Entrepreneurial Institute in Okoboji...

in Local

Cherokee Wastewater


The city of Cherokee found and repaired a wastewater leak....

in Local

Lyon County Kidnapping


Two people are arrested in a kidnapping incident...

in Local

Law Enforcement Reports


Law Enforcement Reports...

in Local

L-M & Pocahontas To Share Activities


Two are schools are set to merge their high school activities...