School Board Election Filing Open

Photo: KICD AM

School Board Election Filing Open

Area (KICD)–Today (Monday) is the 1st day to file for the upcoming Iowa school board elections.

In Clay County there are three open spots on the Spencer School Board. The terms for Bob Whittenburg, Dean Mechler, and Bill Zinn are up this year. All of those spots are at large. There are four open spots on the Clay Central Everly School Board. This includes Matt Schoning in District 2, Brian Schmitt in District 3, Dave Saboe in District 4, and Scott Rinehart in District 5. Candidates must reside in the correlating district but all district patrons vote for each spot on the board.

Elsewhere in nearby districts Spirit Lake features two at large open seats currently held by Todd Hummel and Randy Magg. There are two open seats for the Okoboji School Board which are held by Laurie Simington and Deanna Wermersen. There are three expiring seats on the Ruthven-Ayrshire School Board which are filled by Barry Fischer, Tammy Chapman, and Susan Sikora. Terms expiring on the Graettinger-Terril board include Kyle Norris and Matthew Hanson. Randy Ripke and Lory Krummen have expiring terms on the Sioux Central Board. For Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn seats up for election include District 2 which is currently filled by Val Moermand, District 3 which is occupied by Ed Boll, and District 5 which is held by Bill Treimer. The South O’Brien School District features openings in District 1 with Darrell Rehder as incumbent, District 3 which is currently filled by Kevin Nelson, and District 6 which is occupied by Lori Burmakow.

To obtain additional information on the number of signatures needed to get on the ballot or openings in other area districts contact your respective County Auditor or School Board Secretary. The deadline to file for the September 10th School Board Elections is 5:00 p.m. on August 1st.