Photo: KICD AM

Candidates for City Elections in Clay County

Spencer, IA (KICD)–There is plenty of interest in a pair of open Spencer City Council seats and city posts through Clay County.

Five candidates are looking to fill the at-large Spencer City Council seat being vacated by Dave Scott. Duane Bates, Brent Burns, Steven Hall, George Moriarty, and Kelly Swancutt all met the Thursday filing deadline.

Three candidates made a late push to fill the Ward 1 city council seat which is being vacated by George Kruger. Elissa Barrick, David Cagle and Frank Petska will face off this November.

Mayor Reynold Peterson, Ward 3 Councilmember Steve Bomgaars, and Ward 5 councilmember Ron Hanson all refiled for their posts and are running unopposed. Spencer Hospital Board of Trustees incumbents Neal Conover and Gary VanHofwegen are both running unopposed.

Elsewhere in Clay County there are a number of contested races on the ballot.

In Everly Roger Putnam will challenge Mayor Bud Meyer. Cheryl Cheri Hoye will look to join incumbent Ron Thompson on the Everly City Council where there are two open seats.

Royal Mayor Florence Ihry will face off against Gary Huberg.  Incumbent Arlene Wimmer and Laef Lundbeck look to fill a pair of open city council seats in Royal.

Jack Sylvester will run unopposed for Webb Mayor. All three city council incumbents will be back on the ballot including Robert Fritz, Bradley Greene, and Lynn Meyer.

Fostoria Mayor Marlin Voss will run unopposed for another term. There are three candidates for the same number of open seats on the Fostoria City Council including Alan Bush, Erin Rabel, and incumbent Aaron Rutter.

In Peterson all incumbents have refiled including Mayor Scott Brown and councilmembers Rick Delutri, Jacquie Kehoe, and Terry Selk.

Greenville has no listed candidate for Mayor. Incumbents Dan Knutson, Pat Scott, and Vince Trierweiler filed to fill three of five open city council spots.

Dickens has no listed candidate for Mayor. Incumbent City Councilmebers Mark Jones and John Miller will run unopposed.

GIllett Grove and Rossie each have five open city council spots and the Mayoral position with no candidates on file.

Mayoral positions are all 2 year terms and council members are 4 year terms.